Mexico Recap: Day One

One year ago today my family took a trip to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. My mom (who is a teacher) and my brother (who is in high school) were both on spring break, so it seemed like a good time to go. Unfortunately, I missed a couple days of school and had to scramble to catch up, but, honestly? It was well worth it!

We departed from our local airport early in the morning – early enough to see the sunrise!

The flight was a long one, but not too bad – plenty of different scenery. The more south we went, the more arid and mountainous it got!

It was sometime in the afternoon (local time) when we arrived. And about 80* and sunny. No big deal 🙂
The resort, called Vallarta Palace, was absolutely beautiful.

Iguana!

One of my absolute favorite things about Mexico was the food. It was so fresh, colorful, and full of flavor. After spending most of the day in airports and on airplanes, the first thing I did (after changing into a swimsuit, of course) was head over to the food cabana.

After enjoying some food, we explored the resort for a bit….

Dad & Mom

….and then settled down to soak up some sun. 🙂

Vallarta Palace is a great place to stay for a lot of reasons, but one of the coolest aspects is that it is “all inclusive”. For dinner, we went to one of the restaurants at the resort.

Because it was all inclusive, I decided to order a couple of things! First up, a virgin strawberry daquiri.

For appetizers, we ordered….Caprese salad.

And Cold Roasted Vegetable Salad. (It was soooo good! The veggies had been roasted, bathed in balsamic vinegar, chilled, then stacked.)

For my entree, I ordered the salmon, which came with steamed veggies and a salsa verde.

My mom ordered lasagna.

My dad got pork with risotto.

And my brother ordered steak with mushrooms.

We were all pretty tired by the end of the night, so we enjoyed the beautiful sunset for a while, and went off to bed.

Well, that was Day One in Mexico – check back tomorrow for a recap of day two!

2 comments

  1. […] (because I was studying), but if I could, I would choose that. Otherwise: Disney World, Italy, Mexico, or New England…all for different reasons. I love […]

  2. […] 5. You can go anywhere in the world right now. Where would you go? Someplace warm, like Puerta Vallarta, Mexico… […]

Leave a comment